Howard University Jazz Ensemble BENNY GOLSON AWARD



The HUJE created the Benny Golson Jazz Master Award in 1996 to honor the legacy of Howard University Alumnus and 1995 NEA Jazz Master  Benny Golson. Dr. Golson, a jazz composer and saxophonist is the composer of jazz standards: Killer Joe, Along Came Betty, Blues March, I Remember Clifford, Stablemates, and others.

The Benny Golson Jazz Master Award has been awarded to the following giants and supporters of this American Art Form, JAZZ

1996 Benny Golson

1997 Frank Wess

1998 Frank Foster

1999 Clark Terry

2000 Grady Tate

2000 Donald Byrd

2001 William “Keter” Betts

2001 Larry Ridley

2001 The Honorable John Conyers, Jr.

2001 Yusef A. Lateef

2002 Frederick C. Tillis

2002 Jimmy Heath

2002 Doris Evans McGinty

2002 Marcus Belgrave

2003 Willie L. Hill, Jr.

2003 Roger “Buck” Hill

2003 LaSalle D. Leffall , Jr.

2003 Eddie Henderson

2004 Charles Tolliver

2004 Billy Harper

2005 Abraham S. Venable

2005 Joe Wilder

2005  Arthur C. Dawkins

2005 Geri Allen

2005 Wallace Roney

2006 A.B. Spellman

2006 Bill Pierce

2006 William “Bill” Hughes

2007 Robert “Bobby” Felder

2007 Fred Wesley, Jr.   

2007 Andrew White

2008 Jimmy Owens

2008 Cecil Bridgewater

2009 Vernice “Bunky” Green

2009 McCoy Tyner

2009 Billy Taylor

2009 Jazz Mobile, Inc

2010 T. S. Monk

2010 The Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz
          Thomas R. Carter, President

2010 Greg Osby

2011 Pharoah Sanders

2011 Bennie Maupin

2012 Larry Willis

2012 Javon Jackson

2013 Reppard Stone

2013 Bobby Watson

2013 The Philadelphia Clef Club of Jazz and Performing Arts
          Donald Gardner, Executive Director
          Lovett Hines, Artistic Director

2013 Sonny Fortune

2014 Hubert Laws

2014 Davey Yarborough

2014 Paul Carr

2014 Tom Williams

2015 Westminster Presbyterian Church
          Richard and Ruth Hamilton, Pastors
          Richard “Dick Smith”, Jazz Patron

2015 Andre Heyward

2015  DC Jazz Festival
          Sunny Sumter, Executive Director
          Willard Jenkins, Artistic Director

2016 Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives
          Judith A. Korey, Curator

2016 Cyrus Chestnut

2016 Fred Irby, III

2016 Anacostia Community Museum
          Tony Thomas, Education Program Coordinator

2017 Warren Wolf

2017 Donald Brown

2018 Charles Funn

2018 Gary Bartz

2018 Tia Fuller

2019 George E. Allen

2019 George L. Starks

2019 Derrick Gardner

2019 Jimmy Greene

2021 Suzan E. Jenkins

2021 William “Bill” Alston Brower, Jr.

2021 Allyn Johnson

2022 Orrin Evans

2022 Omrao Brown

2022 Charles Covington, Jr.